Morning Workouts

morning workout

I was never a morning person. I was definitely never a morning workout person. No way, no how was I getting out of my warm, cozy bed to go kick my butt in the gym. Crazy people do that. My workouts were saved for the evening, after work, where I could release all the stress I had built up from the day. My husband would meet me there and we’d spend our evening sweating it out together. But by the time we got home, it was 7pm. Dinner still had to be made. A dog still needed a walk. By the time we sat down to relax, it was nearly 9pm. And if I had to work late, I wouldn’t make it to the gym. This is where the new leaf began to turn.

It started with Friday morning workouts. I would force myself to go to the gym on Friday morning because that meant I had time for happy hour after work. No need to shower or hustle through a dreaded workout. I had found my motivation!

Then, oddly enough, I began to actually enjoy working out in the morning. I was refreshed in the morning, more alert at work, and had an amazing amount of energy you can usually only get from an energy drink. My workouts were more focused. I only had an hour to really work my body instead of 1-2 hours in the evening, depending on how sluggish I felt. I was gaining so much extra time in my day. I had an extra hour or two in the evening and I only had to take one shower! I realized how much more time I wasted in my day by not working out in the morning. All of this was my motivation.

And when motivation is still not enough to not “accidently” turn off your alarm at 4:45am, it’s time to pull out the big guns. My husband set an alarm on his Kindle that made me do 2 math problems before I could hit snooze or turn it off. Extreme? Maybe. But it does wake me up! Try solving 412/238+659 at 5am. (I use my phone calculator…I’m no math genius!) Check out a few crazy alarm apps here.

Becoming a morning workout person is all about motivation. (And if that’s not enough, little tricks like math problems in the morning will help!) What’s your motivation?

Here are 5 steps to help you become the morning person you’ve always envied!

morning workout 5 ideas

I’d be lying to you if I said this was easy. Keep reminding yourself of why you want to work out in the morning. What was your motivation to make this change? With focus and dedication, you’ll become that crazy morning workout person you always wanted to be.

Leave a Reply

